Homemade Sauerkraut

This summer I started making sauerkraut with green cabbage. I’d love to experiment, but I’m waiting until I feel like I’ve got this down before moving on. This is a shot of about 3-4 days in, with fermentation bubbles at their peak.

I mix, shredded cabbage, an unmeasured gratuitous quantity of salt, and a little bit of water in a large glass jar — just enough to cover the cabbage beyond what gets squeezed out while mixing. I then sanitize a jar full of water, and use that to press down on the cabbage inside, and cover with sanitized foil.

sauerkraut

Leave a Reply

